Asking for Offensive Permissions!

If you want somebody to work for you, and he/she asks for the following permissions, how would you feel?

  • I want access to your photo album
  • I want access to your mobile camera, see what you do when you are not using the phone
  • I want to track your location information, tell me every moment where you are and where you go
  • I require access to your message box, see who is saying what, and what you are saying in reply
  • I want access to your file storage, I want to store some files that will report about what sites you prefer to visit
  • I want your online shopping information
  • I want your FnF list, so that I can contact them with advertising
  • Do you like cookies? I want to send you some net-cookies to spy on you

This is simply intruding, offensive and sometimes disgusting. (এক কথায় মামা বাড়ির আবদার). But this has been happening quite frequently in mobile apps that you are downloading and installing. Particularly true for free apps, they are not actually free because you are paying the price by foregoing privacy and sharing key information that helps third parties to target you with advertising. Well, many paid apps also ask for these permissions. Could some of these permissions be legitimate and logical? Of course, yes. Skype needs access to your microphone and camera, that is a part of it. But how come a game app requires permission to my message box?

It is high time that we protested to these app builders and developed a programmers’ community who would come up with alternate apps to respect our privacy.

 

 

About 1mmarketing

Working as Associate Professor, School of Business, United International University, Bangladesh; a North-American graduate, with doctoral studies from UUM, Malaysia, cherishing a wide-view of the world, with multiple interests in culture, people, traveling, and specifically marketing science. I have a colorful and diversified background with a blend of corporate experience, research, consulting, training, public speaking and teaching. I love to write about marketing issues that affect our lives, and talk about its direction that would promote the greatest human welfare.
This entry was posted in Branding and Communication, Digital Marketing, Marketing Practices and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

