3Cs to Unclog Your Communication

Keep reading if you are in a position where you have to communicate a lot everyday. Your success depends on how good you are in communication, isn’t it?

Now think about the communication culture that we have been used to these days. Gone are the days when hand-written letters were one of the personal communication tools. Gone are the days when you type a series of letters so that you can roll those in a tedious fax machine. Click, Connect, Convenience – 3Cs are the rules of communication today. While somebody could have read your emotion in a typed sentence, we have found an efficient way to shorten that through “Emoticons”. While someone could have read your thoughts in 124 characters in tweets, we rather found an efficient way to express more than that, called “URL-shortener”. While it would be great to call somebody and convey a piece of information, we have devised a much cheaper and convenient option called SMS.

Getting back to 3Cs, “Clicking” does not necessarily mean clicking your mouse, rather this is more of creating “Attention”. Am I clicking your mind enough so that I can have your ears? Why should someone listen to you in the first place unless you can create attention? Why should I bother about what you have to say? I have so many things to listen out there, really.

“Connection” will be the second phase after clicking. Once you have achieved my attention, I will see whether the message is “relevant” to me, otherwise I cannot “connect” to your mind.

Finally, I will consider whether the follow-up action requested in the message is convenient to me. Otherwise, I will not act the way you wanted me to act. Over and above all, all these should happen in a process that is convenient to me. It may happen through a mobile phone that can reach me anywhere I like, or through an email that I can read at the comfort of my home, or through some other applications on my desktop or i-phone. If you can practice 3C in simple steps, you will probably unleash the huge potential of communication that you already have.

About 1mmarketing

Working as Associate Professor, School of Business, United International University, Bangladesh; a North-American graduate, with doctoral studies from UUM, Malaysia; cherishing a wide-view of the world, with multiple interests in culture, people, traveling, and specifically marketing science. I have a colorful and diversified background with a blend of corporate experience, research, consulting, training, public speaking and teaching. I love to write about marketing issues that affect our lives, and talk about its direction that would promote the greatest human welfare.
This entry was posted in Branding and Communication and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

